A Brief Word

A few days after posting my review of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s latest release, an interview in which she expressed transphobic/trans-exclusionary views came to my attention. While this isn’t entirely surprising-it’s sadly not an uncommon view-the fact remains that it is extremely disappointing, and a reminder that we still have a long way to go.

Any iteration of feminism that delegitimizes the perspective of any woman will in no way be condoned here. If your feminism is not intersectional, I suggest you rethink it.

I admire Adichie’s writing, and her nonfiction works do serve their purposes. In my previous post, I mentioned that she explained her heteronormative hypothetical scenarios by saying that she only wrote that way because it’s the only scenario to which she can personally attest.

I sincerely hope that in the future she able to give the same respect to the trans experience.

Leave a Reply

